Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

What are the different types of sleep disorders?

There are a number of different types sleep disorders, clinically called “sleep-wake disorders.” They include:

  • Insomnia Disorder
  • Hypersomnolence Disorder
  • Narcolepsy
  • Circadian Rhythm Sleep-Wake Disorders
  • Non-Rapid Eye Movement Sleep Arousal Disorder
  • Rapid Eye Movement Sleep Behavior Disorder
  • Nightmare Disorder
  • Restless Legs Syndrome
  • Substance/Medication-Induced Sleep Disorder
  • Other Specified and Unspecified Sleep-Wake Disorders

Breathing-related sleep disorders include:

  • Obstructive Sleep Apnea Hypopnea
  • Central Sleep Apnea
  • Sleep-Related Hypoventilation

In addition, other sleep-wake disorders may be diagnosed that do not fully meet the criteria for one of the disorders listed above but still cause significant distress or impairment in social, occupational, or other important areas of functioning.

Mental Health Library Sources:

Information included in all topics of the Mental Health Library comes from the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria From DSM-5 and Kaplan & Sadock’s Concise Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry. Complete diagnostic and treatment information may be found within these publications.


Information within the Mental Health Library is not intended to be used for self-diagnosis purposes. Rather, it is provided as a public educational service to make people aware of mental health conditions. Please consult a qualified mental health professional for a diagnosis of any suspected mental health illness.

© Copyright 2023 HUPCFL All Rights Reserved.


Book Appt



Pay Bill